Pictou County Municipal Alcohol Project

Councilor Nicole LeBlanc has been appointment the Town of Trenton representative to serve on the Pictou County Municipal Alcohol Project (MAP) working group.

The Pictou County MAP working group began in 2013 and has since then hosted a number of intergenerational events designed to unite communities across the lifespan with a shared goal of engagement and health; raised the profile of the harms of Nova Scotia’s culture of alcohol misuse; implemented approaches to help address various alcohol-related issues; and recently advocated for evidence-based cannabis policy, federally and provincially.Currently, the Pictou County MAP working group is a partnership among municipal leaders from:

  • Municipality of Pictou County – Councillor Debi Wadden
  • Town of New Glasgow – Councillor Dawn Peters
  • Town of Pictou – Councillor Melinda MacKenzie
  • Town of Stellarton – Mayor Danny MacGillivray
  • Town of Trenton – Councillor Nicole LeBlanc
  • Town of Westville – Councillor Mitchell MacGregor
  • There is also representation on the working group from:

    • Pictou Landing First Nations
    • New Glasgow Regional Police
    • NS Health Community Health Boards
    • NS Health Mental Health & Addictions
    • NS Health Public Health
    • NS Health Regional Medical Officer of Health for the Northern Zone
    • Stellarton Police

    Representatives will provide direction and support on ways to shift the normative culture of heavy alcohol use and reduce alcohol-related community disruption and other associated harms, while creating more supportive climates for enacting effective policies in Pictou County.